A private teacher can really open doors.  A professional, qualified teacher can address your child’s individual weaknesses and accentuate their strengths.  Many students also find having private lessons to be motivational and encourages practice. Any student taking their music seriously should consider private study.  

Here is a list of current private teachers that we know about in the area.  You should consider asking your music director for a personal recommendation based on the needs of your child.  This is an investment.  You don't just want to cold call people.

Strings

Cello

Dr. Chungsun Kim - cskim719@gmail.com                              

Hannah Gebhardt  203-403-2667

Marcia Wiley - fourcelli@sbcglobal.net      

                                     

Violin

Mallory Mercier - 203-403-2667 - jessica@ridgefieldsuzukischool.com         

Kathy Dorn-Lewis - dorndeutschgirl@aol.com        

Jean Wriedt - jwriedt@sbcglobal.net                                     

Beryl Diamond - bd@orionmusicinc.com                                 

Sue Corey-Sahlin - innervoice2@juno.com                                       

Jennifer Brown - 316-772-6587 - jbrownviolin@hotmail.com

Viola

Mallory Mercier - 203-403-2667 - jessica@ridgefieldsuzukischool.com                             

Sue Corey-Sahlin - innervoice2@juno.com 

Kathy Dorn-Lewis - dorndeutschgirl@aol.com                           

 

Bass

Joe Russo (Upright) - joer11@juno.com

Kevin Callaghan (WCSU, Upright) - 203-778-8907

Dan Asher (Acoustic & Electric) - 203-231-9566

Jakob Ebers - 914-330-4131 - jakob.ebers@gmx.com

Guitar

Shane Peters - speters@ridgefieldps.net

Tom Elliott -203-438-7255 - teguitar163@gmail.com

Michael McNamara - mmcnamara@ridgefieldps.net

Winds

Flute  

David Markowitz - thefluteworkshop@gmail.com 

Heather Levanti - 860-428-3852 - flutehyl@yahoo.com

Karen Reilly - 203-894-1876 - kjreilly7@gmail.com

Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614 - dougzantay@me.com

Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

 

Oboe

Nancy Gordon - 203-438-4364 - nancygor@gmail.com

Dora Proud - 706-992-2153 - proud.teodora@gmail.com

 

Bassoon

Jackie Sifford Joyner - 203-431-2250 - heckelmom@gmail.com

Clarinet

Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614 - dougzantay@me.com

Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

Saxophone

Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614

Matthew Willis  - 212-932-8934    mwillis@hypergene.net 

 

Trumpet

Louise Baranger  - louise@trumpetdiva.com

Jamie Finnegan  - 203-545-8466

Ivan Hunter (trumpet teacher and brass repair technician) www.jaegerbrass.com

Andy Rodgers (Tuba/gen. brass) - arodgerstuba@gmail.com   

Rich Clymer (Trumpet/ gen. brass) - clymer1@comcast.net

 

French Horn

Kyle Kayler - klkayler@gmail.com

Barbara Hill - 203-300-5136 - jaynbarb@mac.com

Trombone

Paul Mauro - 860-841-4107 - maurop@danbury.k12.ct.us

Gerard Carelli - 914-242-0540 - www.gerardcarelli.com

John Fumasoli - 914-772-0885 - jonsfac@earthlink.net

Percussion

Percussion/Drum Kit

Phil Banette - serious inquiries only - pbanette@ridgefield.org

Matt Moadel - 203-417-6166 - mgmoadel@gmail.com

John Cutrone - 203-866-7568- www.johncutrone.com

 

Studios

Enchanted Garden Conservatory - 203-894-1987

Ridgefield Music - 203-438-7446  http://www.ridgefieldmusic.net/

Ridgefield Suzuki School  203-403-2667   http://www.ridgefieldsuzukischool.com

Sharps & Flats - 203-438-3300