A private teacher can really open doors.  A professional, qualified teacher can address your child’s individual weaknesses and accentuate their strengths.  Many students also find having private lessons to be motivational and encourages practice. Any student taking their music seriously should consider private study.  

Here is a list of current private teachers that we know about in the area.  You should consider asking your music director for a personal recommendation based on the needs of your child.  This is an investment.  You don't just want to cold call people.  

SOME NAMES APPEAR BLANK; JUST CLICK FOR EMAIL.  

 

Cello

Dr. Chungsun Kim - cskim719@gmail.com                              

Hannah Gebhardt  203-403-2667

Marcia Wiley - fourcelli@sbcglobal.net      

                                     

Violin

Mallory Mercier  203-403-2667          

Kathy Dorn-Lewis                               

Jean Wriedt                                      

Beryl Diamond                                  

Sue Corey-Sahlin                                        

 

Viola

Mallory Mercier   203-403-2667                              

Sue Corey-Sahlin  

Kathy Dorn-Lewis                             

 

Bass

Joe Russo  (upright)                          

Kevin Callaghan (WCSU---upright)        203-778-8907

Dan Asher - Acoustic & Electric -            203-231-9566

 

  

Flute  

David Markowitz - thefluteworkshop@gmail.com 

Heather Levanti - 860-428-3852 - flutehyl@yahoo.com

Karen Reilly - 203-894-1876 - kjreilly7@gmail.com

Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614 - dougzantay@me.com

Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

 

Oboe

·       Nancy Gordon - 203-438-4364 - 

nancygor@gmail.com

 

Bassoon

·       Jackie Sifford Joyner - 203-431-2250 - heckelmom@gmail.com

Clarinet

·       Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614 - dougzantay@me.com

        Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

Saxophone

·       Andrew Beals - 914-497-8127 - andrewbeals@msn.com

·       Doug Zantay -  203-241-5614 - 

         Matthew Willis     212-932-8934    mwillis@hypergene.net 

 

Trumpet

Louise Baranger  - louise@trumpetdiva.com 

Jamie Finnegan  203-545-8466

Ivan Hunter (trumpet teacher and brass repair technician) www.jaegerbrass.com

Andy Rodgers (Tuba/gen. brass) - arodgerstuba@gmail.com   

Rich Clymer (Trumpet/ gen. brass) - clymer1@comcast.net

 

French Horn

·       Kyle Kayler - klkayler@gmail.com

·       Barbara Hill - 203-300-5136 - jaynbarb@mac.com

Trombone

·       Paul Mauro - 860-841-4107 - maurop@danbury.k12.ct.us

·       Gerard Carelli - 914-242-0540 - www.gerardcarelli.com

Guitar 

·       Shane Peters   

·       Tom Elliott -203-438-7255 - teguitar163@gmail.com

         Michael McNamara

Percussion/Drum Kit

·       Phil Banette - serious inquiries only - pbanette@ridgefield.org

·       Matt Moadel - 203-417-6166 - mgmoadel@gmail.com

·       John Cutrone - 203-866-7568- www.johncutrone.com

 

Studios

Enchanted Garden Conservatory - 203-894-1987

Ridgefield Music - 203-438-7446  http://www.ridgefieldmusic.net/

Ridgefield Suzuki School  203-403-2667   http://www.ridgefieldsuzukischool.com

Sharps & Flats - 203-438-3300